Main features of The Indian Independence Act (1947)

·      The British rule of India would end with immediate effect.

·     An independent dominion of India was made including the United Provinces under the British like Madras, Presidency, Carnatic, East Punjab, and West Bengal. Assam, etc.

·    West Punjab, North-West Frontier Province, Sindh and East Bengal would go to Pakistan.

·    The Princely states were given the freedom to decide which dominion to join.

·    India and Pakistan dominions were granted complete freedom and they became members of British Commonwealth.

No comments:

Post a Comment